"Adobe Photoshop Elements 6.0 (Organizer) has stopped working"

Hardly an original title, or so it would seem from searching this forum and elsewhere, but now this problem has hit me.
PSE6 has been working fine since I re-installed it on a new computer early this year. I'm running it in compatibility mode in Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. I use PSE6 mostly for organising my digital photographs and scans, and occasionally for simple editing. Recently I've been shooting RAW files which I use PSE6 to convert to jpg when I want to export them. The organiser crashed when I was converting and exporting about 100 photographs to a new folder on my hard disc. The RAW files were about 5 MB each and PSE6 got about half way through the batch. Since then, I get the message above every time I try to start PSE6. The only other thing I did was to use PSE6 to create a slide show of the same photographs. I've never done this before, so it's worth mentioning in case it has any bearing.
I've tried most of the actions suggested in John Ellis' FAQs with the exception of re-installing PSE6 (which doesn't seem to have solved the problem for anyone else) and messing with the registry (which I don't feel competent to do). Can anyone put their finger on the cause of this problem and suggest a solution? My sincere thanks to anyone who can help me to reolve this issue!
Martyn

  I would suggest using the Editor and try batch processing.
File à Process Multiple Files
Select a source folder containing your raw images
Select a destination folder for your jpegs
Check the bottom box convert files to and from the drop down menu you get a choice of jpeg quality. Select which one you prefer and click OK.
  

Similar Messages

  • Photoshop elements 7.0 (organizer) has stopped working, how do I fix this?

    photoshop elements 7.0 (organizer) has stopped working, How do I fix this?

    Start PSE to get to the Welcome screen.
    Hold down the Ctrl, Alt, and Shift keys and click Organize. Keep holding down the keys until you see the Catalog window.
    Select your catalog and click Repair.  Select “repair anyway” even if PSE doesn’t find problems.
    Then for good measure, click Optimize.
    If repairing resolves your issue then fine else repeat the above steps, but click New to create a new catalog.  If you’re able to import photos into the new catalog and the Organizer works fine, then problem can be old catalog.
    In that case you can try regenerating the thumbnails.  Do Show All, Edit > Select All, and then Edit > Update Thumbnail.
    http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb402592&sliceId=2
    -Garry

  • Photomerge  Adobe Photoshop Elements 7.0 (Editor) has stopped working

    When starting photomerge I'm getting the above error message.
    I un installed PSE 7.0 and re installed. Same problem.
    Any ideas what could cause this problem.
    Only change I saw was that Google Chrome was installed.

    Hi,
    Please try couple of probable solutions as mentioned below:
    Solution 1:
    1. Close Elements.
    2. Launch the Photoshop Elements Welcome Screen and hold down ctrl + alt + shift as you click Editor.
    3. Continue to hold the keys until you see a message box asking if you want to delete Photoshop Elements settings file; click Yes. Elements will open with default preferences.
    Solution 2: In case any network printer is attached try to launch without network or printer uninstall or make different printer as default.
    Solution 3: Try launching with anti-virus off or removing PSE from conflicting list.
    Solution 4:
    On the drive on which you have installed PSE,on my machine it is on C:
    Go  to C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 6\Locales\<locale>\Plug-Ins\Import-Exportand you will find twain  plug-in. Remove that plug-in from that location and copy it somewhere  else.
    Now launch PSE and check if it works.

  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 6.0 (Editor) has stopped working

    Shows this message and then "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.  Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."    Haven't heard anything from windows.   Any suggestions?

    Did you tried uninstalling and then installing it again?
    Ankush

  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 7.0 (Organizer) has encountered a problem and needs to close.  We are sorry

    I have uninstalled and reinstalled and tried repairing, reorganizing the catalog but nothing seems to work.

    [email protected] wrote:
    I can start PSE but when I start the organizer I get the error once the organizer opens.
    You haven't said how are you starting the PSE?  There are many ways, of course, but the two main methods are:
    1) clicking on the desktop icon
    2) Start/Windows Logo >> All Programs > Adobe Photoshop Elements
    Now I suggest use the second method and then go into Edit first.  Once you are in Edit, click on the Organizer icon on the top right corner.
    This should start the organizer. Hopefully this would fix it forever when you exit from the PSE because the settings are normally saved on exit.
    The above is an adaptation of this thread:
    <http://forums.adobe.com/message/4597703#4597703>
    Good luck.

  • Unable to launch Adobe Premiere Elements 10 - Says AdPrE10 has stopped working

    I downloaded Adobe Premiere Elements and bought a product license via my workplace.
    I was able to install successfully, but when I launch the program, it says Premiere Elements 10 has stopped working. I have not been able to launch the program. I was having the same issues when I was using the trial version. Please help,
    I need to work on editing videos rightaway and it is ridiculous that a program that I have paid money to buy is not even launching to begin with. I can't even imagine the trouble I am going to have trying to use this version.
    Please don't send me thousands of instructions on downloading and installation. I have been able to download and install and added my serial key number. I see the icon on the desktop, It just doesn't launch. See error image.
    Thanks
    VidishaP

    I am not looking for sarcasm.
    Let's address that for a moment.
    I replied to your OP about 8 mins. after it was moved here. Much of that time was gathering the links to those articles, most of which I wrote, and have bookmarked. Each contains several links (one, probably 15 links).
    In ~ 30 mins. you report that there was nothing helpful in any of those articles or the ones linked to, from them. Though I wrote the articles (most anyway), it would have taken me that long to read each article, and just open the links, with almost zero time to do any of the things suggested. Just tracking down error and warning messages in Event Viewer, and following the links in any of those, would have taken at least that long.
    You state that you had the same issues with the trial version.
    I had the same issue when I was trying to use the trial version.
    In the world of troubleshooting, this is a pretty fair indicator that there is something wrong with your computer, or your OS. If nothing else, it indicates that a problem existed before your recent installation of PrE.
    Now I will have to search for return/exchange options since it is not launching by double clicking like every program does.
    Actually, Adobe makes this part very easy. Just return their software, within 30-days of purchase, and you get your money back.
    Sorry that I could not help you,
    Hunt

  • My Photoshop 9 Stopped working I get the message "Elements 9 Organizer has stopped working"

    My photoshop 9 program stopped working after using Adobe Premiere 9 to generate a slide show using Adobe Photoshop 9 organizer to place photos. The program crashed as I was attempting to burn a DVD. After this happened, I no longer could access the organizer in Photoshop 9. I get the message "Elements 9 organizer has stopped working" " A problem caused the program to stop working correctly, windows will close the program and notify you of a solution is found"
    I tried unistalling Photoshop 9 and the problem remains.

    Thanks for your suggestion.  I checked the Epson web site and also their technical help, they gave me their latest driver (which didn't work) but also said there were some issues with Apple's Mavericks (OS X 10.9.4) and said I should get back to Apple.  Not sure were this leaves me with Adobe Elements though - perhaps I should reinstall?  Thanks again for your suggestion.

  • Why do I get this error message when I open Organizer in Photoshop Elements 11 "Elements Organizer has stopped working"? My only option is to Close Program so I am effectively locked out of my photo catalogue.  I have reinstalled the program to no avail.

    Why do I get this error message when I open Organizer in Photoshop Elements 11 "Elements Organizer has stopped working"? My only option is to Close Program so I am effectively locked out of my photo catalogue. I have tried reinstalling the program but it made no difference to the error message.
    Could someone help please?  Steph

    Hi,
    Please give a try to Photoshop Elements (PSE) knowledge base. steps mentioned on this and see if it works.
    Regards
    Kishan

  • Installed Photoshop Elements 13.  Tried to launch - "Elements 13 Organizer has stopped working."

    I downloaded and installed Photoshop Elements 13 & Premiere Elements.  I then launched Photoshop Elements Organizer and imported approx. 28,000 photos (including some videos).  A window opened indicating that many of the photos had tags, and asking if I wanted to add the tags.  I said yes, and the process began.  When it reached 60% a window opened indicating that "Elements 13 Organizer has stopped working", with the only option being to "Close program."
    I've tried to open organizer several times, but it goes immediately to "Elements 13 Organizer has stopped working".  I was able to open Editor, and tried opening Organizer from Editor, but encountered the same problem.  Same when I opened from Premiere Elements.
    I’ve uninstalled/reinstalled Elements 13 three times, twice using the Akamai downloader, and once using the Alternate method.  It said installation completed, but when I opened the program, it went straight to the error "Elements 13 Organizer has stopped working".  These times I didn't get to import my photos or their associated tags.

    I already checked that and I have the latest drivers for my printer. Thanks for the suggestion though.  Dennis

  • Elements 12 organizer has stopped working on importing of files

    I am running a brand new PC w8.1 fresh install, second install of elements and photoshop 12.  when I am attempting to import my files in the organizer I am getting a consistant crash "Elements 12 organizer has stopped working".  Need assistance to make this go away.
    Background:
    The crash happens while importing videos or photos (have not even gotten to the part to work with files yet)
    I have tried to take smaller imports (less then a couple hundred files) but that doesn't seem to matter.
    It is not crashing on a consistent file.  Sometimes when I try again, it completes the import.
    Brand new Dell PC 7i, 24 gig ram, amd advance graphics card (PC not the issue)
    Windows 8.1 pretty much out of the box.
    Tried to "rename" the psa file to psaold, (still crashing).
    Re installed software, no change
    Downloaded the latest updates for everything.
    Webroot security
    Thanks for any help you can give me, I hate to have to return the product but considering how unstable it is when everything is fresh, I cant imagine living with this.
    Ted

    for those of you out there, and potential buyers, here is my chat session with customer support.
    You are now chatting with Tanvi.
    Tanvi: Hello. Welcome to Adobe Technical Support.
    Tanvi: Hi Theodore
    theodore brown: hello, need help as you see frustrated beyond words, why a software program would not work on a brand new high powered PC with fresh everything..
    Tanvi: I understand that you are facing issues while using Photoshop Elements. Is that correct?
    theodore brown: correct version 12 with update to 12.1
    theodore brown: out of the box, so to speak.
    Tanvi: Let me see how best I can help you with this
    theodore brown: OK, shoot
    Tanvi: Theodore, support for Photoshop elements is not available through chat and phone. You can refer the links below for further help with this :
    Tanvi: Adobe Help and Support :      http://www.adobe.com/support/
    Tanvi: Adobe User Forums : http://forums.adobe.com/index.jspa?promoid=DJGWK
    theodore brown: are you kidding me? is this a robot or a real person. I posted and issue two days ago and nothing. I have been through the forum, and there is a TON of people with the same problem, and a whole bunch of guessing on what to do, I dont have time to play games here, I need someone to explain a solution, this should be easy, its on a brand new system and a brand new install
    Tanvi: I understand however, according to Adobe's policy support for Photoshop Elements is available only till 90 days since the release date.
    Tanvi: You can post your query on forums. Our experts and users will respond with possible resolutions
    theodore brown: what does that mean???
    theodore brown: they only support thier product for 90 days, not when a customer buys?
    Tanvi: Support for Photoshop Elements is available only till 90 days since the release date.
    Tanvi: Since Photoshop Elements 12 was released in September, 2013 , support is available only through help files and user forums.
    Tanvi: This is applicable for Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements only.
    Tanvi: Support is available for the Creative cloud applications
    Tanvi: Is there anything else I can help you with?
    theodore brown: and this is not there are a TON of people in the community with the "stop working problem" and no real answers, just guessing.
    theodore brown: yea, help solve the problem or how do I get my money back.
    Tanvi: I apologize, as I mentioned earlier, support for Photoshop elements is not available through chat and phone anymore.
    Tanvi: You can return the software within 30 days since the purchase date.
    Tanvi: May I know when was the software purchased and from where?
    theodore brown: amazon
    Tanvi: May I know when was the software purchased ?
    theodore brown: I am looking up on amazon
    theodore brown: I have been trying to make this software work, in my personal time when I can for TWO WEEKS.
    Tanvi: Okay
    theodore brown: Multiple install, I am dumb enough to uninstall again, after spending 8 hours trying to load my catalog for the 3rd time, with about 20 crashes.
    Tanvi: Were you able to check the purchase date?
    theodore brown: working on it.
    theodore brown: july 27th
    theodore brown: received a few days after that.
    Tanvi: Okay
    theodore brown: Okay?
    theodore brown: whats that mean.
    Tanvi: Theodore, the time frame to return the software is 30 days however, let me transfer the chat to our customer service department. They will  check whether an exception can be made for you since it is just 2 days past the time frame.
    Tanvi: Shall I transfers the chat?
    theodore brown: It shipped on July 30th.
    theodore brown: does that count?
    Tanvi: We check the purchase date. Shall I transfer the chat to our customer service department?
    theodore brown: sure
    Tanvi: Please stay online while I transfer the chat
    theodore brown: OK, no hurry, Plenty of time to update my post on the support I received. and write a review on amazon.
    Please wait while I transfer the chat to the appropriate group.
    You are now chatting with Pushpa. To ensure we stay connected throughout our interaction , please don't click on the 'x' in the chat window. Doing so will disconnect our chat session.
    Pushpa: Hello! Welcome to Adobe Customer Service.
    Pushpa: Hi Theodore.
    theodore brown: Hello, I am here. I am frustrated with your product beyond words. how the product does not work on a brand new pc and and a brand new install with all new and updates is beyond me. I have wasted many many hours trying to get the product to work. and I can get NO SUPPORT this is crazy.
    Pushpa: I understand that you are unable to  use Photoshop Elements. Is that correct?
    Pushpa: I will be glad to help you with this issue.
    Pushpa: Please allow me 2 to 3 minutes while I pull up your account details and see what best I can do.
    theodore brown: correct.
    theodore brown: https://forums.adobe.com/message/6676345
    Pushpa: Thank you for staying online.
    Pushpa: May I know the exact error message you are getting?
    theodore brown: Organizer has stopped work......
    theodore brown: working.....
    Pushpa: I checked and see that you are placed an order for Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 & Adobe Premiere Elements 10 with the order number AD005596081 on Aug. 04, 2012.
    Pushpa: Theodore, you mean it is working?
    theodore brown: yea, I did, and then bought 12, because 10 didn't work so well on my old PC, so bought a new pc and 12 via amazon.
    Pushpa: Great!
    Pushpa: Is there anything else I can help you with?
    theodore brown: not great! its been beyond frustrating.
    theodore brown: yea, I want the product to WORK. or I want my money and time back.
    theodore brown: you didnt got to the post I sent. I got a brand new PC and and a brand new install everything is up to date and crash after crash. its just not right not to support the product.
    theodore brown: writing my amazon review as we write.
    Pushpa: Theodore, I checked and see that you are purchased the software from Adobe. May I know about which software you are talking about?
    Pushpa: Sorry for the typo.
    theodore brown: I bought via Amazon photoshop elements 12. I have been trying since I received the product to get it to work on a brand new PC with brand new everything, no conflicts, and it crashes all the time.
    theodore brown: May I ask, what would you do?
    Pushpa: Please will you confirm how many days back you purchased the software?
    theodore brown: It was delivered on July 30th.
    Pushpa: You can return the software within 30 days since the purchase date.
    theodore brown: the order date is july 27th.
    theodore brown: that is why I believe I was forwarded to you.
    Pushpa: We can initiate the refund within 30 days of purchase.
    theodore brown: It is now August 28th (I added this for my review I will post)
    theodore brown: I think it will be important for future customers to see all this.
    theodore brown: sorry, potential customers.
    Pushpa: If is Adobe purchase we can assist you with the process as you purchased the software from reseller you have to contact the point of purchase.
    theodore brown: So that's it, thank you for your donation? sorry no help for me?
    theodore brown: like I asked. What would you do?
    Pushpa: Am sorry to inform you that please try and understand,  Adobe purchase we can assist you with the process as you purchased the software from reseller you have to contact the point of purchase.
    Pushpa: Is there anything else I can help you with?
    theodore brown: Nope, guess not, I will make sure I post this. have a good day

  • Elements 9 Organizer has stopped working.

    Whenever I run Photoshop Elements 9, after a few seconds a window pops up that says "Elements 9 Organizer has stopped working. Windows is checking for a solution to the problem." And then another window pops up that says, "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available." Then, I am forced to close the program. How can this be fixed? Thanks.

    delete your preference files from C:\Documents and Settings\"user name"\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\9.0\Organizer. Delete psa.prf and status.dat.
    Your preference settings will be set back to default. Also, try turning off Auto Analyzer from Edit->Preferences->Media Analysis.
    Hope it works !

  • Why do I continue to get this message-elements 9 organizer has stopped working?

    Why do I continue to get this message - elements 9 organizer has stopped working? 

      The Organizer preferences may have become corrupted, needing to be automatically re-built on a re-start.   Close Elements.
    Navigate to:John > AppData >Roaming >Adobe >Photoshop Elements >9.0 >Organizer
    Delete the PSA file (with key symbol) and delete Status.dat
    Re-start the program
    N.B. replace John with your own user name or click the start button and select your user name above documents.
     

  • Elements 12 organizer has stopped working

    elements 12 organizer starts runs for a few minutes and then crashes  with this error message " elements 12 organizer has stopped working a problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available"
    I have updated the program to 12.1
    I have a Dell computer running  Win 7with all updates.
    If someone from Adobe monitors this forum would you please give me some help on this.
    I believe this is the only place I can get technical support from Adobe for elements 12, if I am not correct could you please direct me to a chat line or a phone number.
    If an Adobe employee reads this please confirm that this is my only option for technical support.
    if an Adobe employee needs more information about the computer please let me know, but only Adobe employees.
    I'm having a hard time believing that there is no fix for this problem

    Please try carrying out the instructions mentioned here:
    Elements Organizer crashes at launch
    Thanks,
    Anwesha

  • Elements 10 Organizer  Has Stopped Working.

    I recently purchase Adobe Elements & Premier 10 programs and both have been working well for about 2 weeks.  Now, when I opene Organizer, the program loads and appears but immediately it stops working with the message: "Elements 10 organizer has stopped working.  A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.  Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."
    I uninstalled the program and reinstalled it but no change.  The Editor in Elements 10 starts and works fine.  I am running Windows Vista.  Nearly each day I get a Windows update notice and install it.  I also frequently defrag my hard drive.  I am having no other issues with my computer.
    I have tried a few of the suggestions from others on this forum but nothing helps.  I have also tried the Restore feature on Windows but it never Restores for me.
    Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Larry

    See if you can get to the preferences from Editor by clicking:
    Edit à Preferences à Organize & Share
    Then select Media Analysis and turn everything off by un-checking all the boxes.
     Also try making a direct shortcut for the Organizer and see if you can launch the program directly from the desktop bypassing the welcome screen.
    On Windows, Right click anywhere on the desktop and select New à Shortcut
    Then click the browse button and navigate to:
    "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Elements 10 Organizer\PhotoshopElementsOrganizer.exe"
    Then click Next; then click Finish
      N.B. on 64 bit systems navigate to Program Files (x86)

  • "Elements Organizer has stopped working"

    When I try to print from Photoshop Elements 10 I get a message that states "Elements 10 Organizer has stopped working", and then the program shuts down.  I have no issue printing from any other program and has printed from Elements 10 since I purchased the product a couple of years ago.  (I've already uninstalled and reinstalled the product and that didn't fix the issue.)  Any ideas?  Is this a Windows issue?  (I have Windows 7 with SP1 so that is all up to date.)  Thanks for any help you can give me.

    I already checked that and I have the latest drivers for my printer. Thanks for the suggestion though.  Dennis

Maybe you are looking for

  • How to use multiple concurrent contexts

    I have a context package that uses a session_id. I want to use multiple sessions as I will have multiple users creating contexts at the same time. Once the context is created with a session_id I want to reference that session_id in a view. Can this b

  • Opening an Excel file with custom formatting while BEx is open

    Hi, we just noticed something pretty weird (first time I see it in my carreer). One of the end users had BEx open (just launched the BEx Analyzer without actually opening a query/workbook) and tried to open one of her "own" Excel sheets out of Explor

  • Compressed memory showing 0% in activity monitor

    On one of my Mac Mini's (late 2012), upgraded to 16GB RAM, I keep getting out of memory messages when running apps and on checking the activity monitor it is showing 0% for all running apps under the compressed memory column. I'm running OS-X 10.10.3

  • HT1766 I have to change my passcode but keep being asked to put in current passcode which I dont know

    I dont know my current passcode but am being asked to put this in the phone............. How do I access my current passcode. My phone keeps taking me to this question when I power up  and I am unable to do anything........

  • Biztalk 2013 Eventlog.WriteEntry

    On Biztalk 2006R2 (windows server 2003R2), I never had problem writing to eventlog from my Biztalk orchestration. But on BizTalk 2013 (Windows server 2008R2), whenever My Biztalk application tries to write to eventlog, I see the following error: Inne