Failed to Install The New Preview Build. Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x80246007: FBL_AWESOME1501 9926 Professional.

Hello,
I'm having issues upgrading my Windows 10 Technical Preview installation build 9879 to a newer build that's become available late January 23rd.
I am installing the new upgrade in a Hyper-V virtual machine and get the following error:
Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0x80246007
What could be the problem?
Previously I've had messages that Windows cannot be upgraded on a computer with less than 2 Gbyte of RAM. That's a Hyper-V VM with dynamic memory and I was highly surprised to see this error; never had this before. Had to set 2048 Mbytes as a minimum memory
for this VM. Now that I have this 80246007 error code.
When looking up System log, the following error messages are listed multiple times:
Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x80246007: FBL_AWESOME1501 9926 Professional.
The errors are returned for the Event ID 20 by WindowsUpdateClient
in task category Windows Update Agent..
I reviewed the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\Applicability
registry key as suggested in Windows
Insider stuck on build 9841 - "No new preview build was found", and here is what it shows:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\Applicability]
"BranchName"="fbl_awesome1501"
"ThresholdRiskLevel"="low"
"ThresholdOptedin"=dword:00000001
Note, when attempting to install the downloaded update from a native boot, installation starts with no errors.
However, since setup is not supported for a natively booted VHD files, it does not proceed further showing a message that installation on virtual drives is not supported.  
Looks like Setup is having problems installing in a Hyper-V virtual machine.
Possibly, some ESD files got corrupted during downloading? Is it possible to remove them and re-download missing files? (I, however, noticed that Windows seems to re-download upgrade files after you restart 9879 and attempt to check for a new build.
Any clue why installing under VM causes 9926 to fail?
Thank you in advance.
Well this is the world we live in And these are the hands we're given...

Hi,
According to the error message, this problem seems like update package installation failed during system upgrade.
You can try to remove ESD file which locate at boot of C drive and upgrade the system again for test.
On the other hand, make sure the system 9879 installed all Windows pushed updates before system upgrade.
Roger Lu
TechNet Community Support

Similar Messages

  • Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0xC1900107

    I'm trying to upgrade Windows 10 TP for Enterprise to the new build 8460, but I keep getting the error message
    Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0xC1900107
    I don't find any reference to that error code. I've seen similar reports in the forum, but with different error codes and with the message "Failed to upgrade" rather than "Failed to install". I haven't played with the reg keys on this
    system.
    The event viewer shows the following event:
    Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0xC1900107: fbl_release 9860 Enterprise.
    The upgrade to a non-Enterprise device started at the same time went through without problems.
    Alberto

    Hi Russell,
    What’s the situation now?
    There would be a cause that the upgrade is running background, so a retry would fail in this situation.
    You can check the action log  in C:\$Windows.~BT\source\panther\setupact.log
    Check the time line to see if it is running for upgrade.
    Alex Zhao
    TechNet Community Support

  • Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later 0xC1900204

    I upgraded in-place from Windows 8.1 to Build 9926. I am unable to upgrade past 9926.
    Windows Update finds the new preview build on both fast and slow rings. It downloads it successfully. Upon attempting to install, it fails.
    I get a screen overlay with the message: 
       Can't update to Windows 10 Technical Preview
       Sorry, it looks like this PC can't run Windows 10 Technical Preview. This might be because the Users or Program Files folder is being redirected to another partition.
    Closing the overlay and returning to the "Update & recovery" screen, I see the error in red: Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later 0xC1900204

    Hi Isilverman,
    As we have Windows 10 install Media available at hand, might we consider to do a dual boot of Windows 10 and Windows 8.1?
    Based on the information you posted, it seems to be that the current Windows 8.1 environment is not suitable to do an Upgrade.
    Another thing I would like to share is the information listed in the thread below:
    Problems with disk space and installation time in builds 10041
    and 10049 of Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Best regards
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact [email protected]

  • Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0x80070003

    I am currently running build 9841. When I try to install the new preview build I get the following error
    Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later.  0x80070003
    I have installed all updates and I am a full administrator of this machine.  If someone could fix this I would be very happy.

    Hi bgelbach,
    Have you downloaded the 9879 build?
    Before Windows setup runs, it would do some check on perquisites, one thing is space check.
    When the new build is downloaded, it is located under C:\windows\software distribution\download
     folder, which is about 2.7G. Make sure you have enough space for installation.
    If everything goes well, it would extract files to C:\$WINDOWS.~BT folder.
    Alex Zhao
    TechNet Community Support

  • Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0x80070032

    Hello, I'm trying to update my Windows 10 to the new build and it's not possible in my computer.
    In PC Settings\Preview Build I get this error as a result after trying to install the new update:
    Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0x80070032
    EDIT: After trying the solution posted here: https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/66f82aff-9411-4c5f-a34f-e3172df32925/preview-build-failed-to-download-0x80246018?forum=WinPreview2014Setup
    Now I have different error 0x80240024

    Hi,
    Did you find the error during downloading or installing process? Have you cleared the SoftwareDistribution folder and check the issue again?
    It would be better if you can check the event viewer and windowsupdate.log (%windir%\Windowsupdate.log), find related information, upload the log to OneDrive for further analysis.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-hk/onedrive/share-file-folder
    Yolanda Zhu
    TechNet Community Support

  • Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x800F0922

    Hi folks,
    I have a HP Elitebook Folio 9470p.  It came with Windows 8, and I installed it on my corporate domain.  I was trying to do some Windows updates so  I could upgrade it to Windows 8.1, but it fails installing the updates, whether or not I try
    to install them one at a time or all of them.  It has about 18 updates it needs from security updates to a .net framework update.  I run Symantec EP, and disabled it, checked for driver updates for things like display and networking and they are
    all up to date.
    I'm at a loss as to what to do.  It gives this error in the event log for each file, Event ID 20.
    Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x800F0922: Security Update for Windows 8 for x64-based Systems (KB2862152).
    This is the example for KB2862152, but it gives the same error for every one.  I've tried to auto fix for Windows update issues and it fixed a couple of the issues, but not all of them, and provides no other help.
    I also deleted folders and files from the SoftwareDistribution folder as well, to no avail.  Any ideas what I can do to get whatever updates it needs, so I can fully patch it, and upgrade it to Win 8.1?
    Thanks for any help!

    Hi MM. Mr Kywildcat and Vegan Fan,
    GOOD NEW ! At this time, my issue is solved. The only black side is "how ?" : I hope that we will get a response some day ; however, and for in information  pnly - hoping this could help someone - I resume some actions which allowed this the happy end
    1) about installing 8.1 : I wanted to be sure that gain/pain ratio was positive, and that upgrading from a (potentially) damaged system would'nt produce something looking like a new Win 8.1, but difficult to maintain and keeping some negative potentialities.
    2) I was influenced by the fact that this
    0x800F0922  error acted as "a serial killerror", whose root cause could be a unique update error at reboot time concerning several (>20) packages, so I decided to test some manual upgrades.
    3)   Manual update (i.e. manual download and maunching of .msu packages) of the 2 following packages
    (whose update previously failed on a Windows Update) was successful : .NET Framework version 3.5 for  x64 (KB2898866) and Camera Codec Pack Windows 8 for x64 (KB2899190)
    4) So I decided to try Windows Update on a selection of packages, first : those concerning .Net Framework 3.5 and 4.5 (that is: KB2898866, 2901120, 2898865) --> Successful !
    5) finally, I selected almost all other packages, with some exceptions wich I (think to) have no need for : KB2871690, 2904659, 2843630. To be complete, here is the list of pakages updated one time at all :
    KB 2892074, 2893294, 2893984, 2909210, 2912390, 2916036, 2889784,2903938, 2911101, 2913152, 2917499
    --> always succesful.
    I am not a specialist, but I uess that this 0x800F0922 error hides another problem which is globally "H-RESULTED"
    to all updates pending in one update operation with reboot. This could be assumed from this CBS.log exterped from my last wrong attempts, where root cause seems not to be
    0x800f0922, but 0x80004003 :
    2014-02-15 21:29:13, Info                  CBS    Could not get active session for current session file logging [HRESULT = 0x80004003 - E_POINTER]
    2014-02-15 21:29:13, Info                  CBS    Not able to add pending.xml.bad to Windows Error Report. [HRESULT = 0x80070002 - ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND]
    2014-02-15 21:29:18, Error  CBS    Startup: Failed to process advanced operation queue, startupPhase: 0.  A rollback transaction will be created. [HRESULT = 0x800f0922 - CBS_E_INSTALLERS_FAILED]
    Anyway, thanks to you who spent some of your time to describe issues and search/ suggest solutions ; I will upgrade my system to 8.1 anyway, some of this day, when I am sure that my configuration does not hides some other problem. I thing that potential
    issue remains until maybe a new KB corrects it, wrong :-) ?
    And I hope that you - Mr Kywildcat - can upgrade your system on "current levels" trying similar attempts. 
    Phil   

  • Failed to check for new preview build, please try again later. 0x80248014

    Hi
    I keep getting error such as "Failed to check for a new preview build, please try again later.0x80248014" and unable to update to a newer build version.
    How do I download the latest version build?
    Windows Updates?

    Hi,
    To rename SoftwareDistribution folder, you can refer to the contents of th link below:
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_8-windows_store/how-to-fix-the-purchase-error-0x80248014-windows-8/27c65525-fa28-4048-b11d-b83e86a2dcbc
    For your problem, I'd like to suggest you use Windows update troubleshoot tool for test to fix this problem:
    Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Troubleshooting\All Categories\Windows Update
    If failed, please post the detailed information of this tool diagnose results here.
    After that, please upload your Windows update log file to your sharing space and post the link here.
    C:\Windows\WindowsUpdate.log
    Roger Lu
    TechNet Community Support

  • Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x80070005

    Hi,
    We are using Win Server 2008 R2 std. Server and Win 7 Professional X64 clients. During the second batch of update we got an Error while updating on one client machine and the system restoring back automatically However other clients are updating and working
    fine. Then i tried to install the updates one by one manually then successfully installed all the updates except one ie. KB2862330. It keeps failing then i found an article suggest to check the update with Admin Previlage, disable Antivirus and Scan the
    computer for Malware (Using MS Security Scanner and Malwarebytes). I tried both but never works. After that i got 2 batch of updates, everything is updating and trying to update this (KB2862330) and failing till date. What is the issue and why its not updating
    on one machine?
    Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x80070005: Security Update for Windows 7 for x64-based Systems (KB2862330).
    KB Article Followed : http://support.microsoft.com/kb/968003/en-us

    Okay, good. The SURT shows no errors.
    So now we can blame the problem exclusively on the update itself.
    And yes... there are still known, ongoing issues with KB2862330.
    Truly, my suggestion is to just not install it at all. Unless you've identified a known risk via a USB vector on particular systems where the vulnerability would be considered a critical risk, I'd say that the risk caused by the vulnerability is significantly
    less than the risk of additional headache caused by the update itself. I have still not deployed MS13-081 to any of my systems, and frankly, I don't plan to.
    Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCSA, MCITP:EA, MCDBA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Packaging, Deployment & Servicing (2005-2014)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/mvp/Lawrence%20R%20Garvin-32101
    http://www.solarwinds.com/gotmicrosoft
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

  • Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0XC190010C - Solved

    Does this error code mean that I will receive the new build 9860 update later in time or there is some problem in the current build?
    Thank you.

    Hi RoumenD,
    If issue persists, you can share the setupact.log under
    $Windows.~BT\source\panther
    Here would have some information about failure.
    Alex Zhao
    TechNet Community Support

  • Failed to install the new preview build, please try again later. 0x80070005

    Hello, 
    Im having an issue installing the latest build. Whenever I try I get the following..
    My machine is joined to a domain and I have full admin access to the system, I have searched around for the error and found some issues related to windows update. so I have run a script to reset the permission on the registry and file system but this has
    made no difference.
    Has anyone else seen this error before or know how to solve it?
    Thanks

    Hi all,
    According to your description, this may be related to the permission which can write to C:\ drive, not the registry. I edit this script as following:
    @echo off
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE /grant=administrators=f 
    /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CURRENT_USER /grant=administrators=f 
    /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subkeyreg HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT /grant=administrators=f 
    /grant=system=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %SystemDrive% /grant=administrators=f
    subinacl /subdirectories %windir% /grant=administrators=f /grant=system=f
    @Echo =========================
    @Echo Finished.
    @Echo =========================
    @pause
    When you click install button, it would create a folder under system drive, from the error information: access denied, it would be caused by the write permission on system drive root. So we can try this script for a check.
    Alex Zhao
    TechNet Community Support

  • Failed to download the new preview build, please try again later. 0x80200013

    What does error code 0x80200013 mean? I try to download build 9860 but it won't download, tried it multiple times.

    Hi Roel Janssens,
    What’s the situation now?
    0x80200013 means BG_E_INSUFFICIENT_RANGE_SUPPORT
    If you are in corporation network, check proxy servers to ensure that they are configured correctly to support range requests.
    From  most user’s feedback, there is no problem in downloading.
    Hope you can get it done soon!
    Alex Zhao
    TechNet Community Support

  • Failed to download new preview build, please try again later 0x80080008

    I have seen a lot of this going round lately, currently im stuck on build 9841, unable to update to a new build with error in the title, which as of writting I havent found a thread with my specific error code.
    Been trying to update for a week, same error code, everyday. I apologise in advance if someone has in fact reported this error code in relation to these preview builds.
    Blonde015 Windows Vista/Windows Live User

    When you face this problem, please report it through Feedback form and then run Windows Update and install all updates (if any) and then restart your PC and try run and install the build again.

  • Hi. I was trying to update my Itunes to the newer version but now when I try to install it, it comes up with Service 'Apple Mobile Device' (Apple Mobile Device) failed to start. Verify that you have sufficient privileges to start system services.

    Hi. I was trying to update my Itunes to the newer version but now when I try to install it, it comes up with Service 'Apple Mobile Device' (Apple Mobile Device) failed to start. Verify that you have sufficient privileges to start system services. How do I fix this?

    Hi LyfsGD!
    Here is an article that can help you troubleshoot this issue with the Apple Mobile Device Service:
    How to restart the Apple Mobile Device Service (AMDS) on Windows
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ts1567
    Thanks for using the Apple Support Communities!
    Cheers,
    Braden

  • Windows Insider stuck on build 9841 - "No new preview build was found"

    I am in the insider program and on build 9841. I did this same process on 2 other machines, starting at 9841, running through windows updates, and then upgrading to build 9860. However, on this one particular desktop machine, I have all other windows updates
    applied, but every time I check for a new preview build I simply see the following message:
    "No new preview build was found, please try again later."
    Any idea how to force this thing to detect the newer build which I know is available?
    Patrick

    I changed my registry to what you said, but I still can't get any update. Do you have any ideas for me? Only have 10 more days :\
    thanks
    For anything newer than 9926 registry settings must be as follows:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\Applicability]
    "BranchName"="fbl_impressive"
    "ThresholdRiskLevel"="low"
    "Ring"="WIF"
    "ThresholdOptedin"=dword:00000001
    Copy this into the registry file and double-click it to import settings into your registry.
    Then restart Windows Update and BITS services for the settings to apply on the running instance of Windows. You may use the following script:
    net stop wuauserv
    pause
    net stop bits
    pause
    net start bits
    pause
    net stop wuauserv
    Copy the text above into a text file, rename its extension to CMD, and run the command file with elevated privileges (right-click the CMD file and select Run as administrator from the shortcut menu).
    Note: the branch name changed since 9926 days. Previously you could have the following settings:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\Applicability]
    "BranchName"="fbl_awesome1501"
    "ThresholdRiskLevel"="low"
    "ThresholdOptedin"=dword:00000001
    or even
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\Applicability]
    "BranchName"="fbl_release"
    "ThresholdRiskLevel"="low"
    "ThresholdOptedin"=dword:00000001
    Both did NOT work for me. The fbl_impressive value worked flawless.
    Remember the value of BranchName MUST be the same as the keyword found in the name of the ESD file you download from Microsoft when you click
    Download now in Update & recovery . The ESD could be found in %systemroot%\SoftwareDistribution\Download or in %systemdrive%\$Windows.~BT\Sources.
    You can check to see what is the
    valid branch name for a particular build on Windows here.
    To cut the long story short:
    The official Technical Preview releases of Windows 10 are known as:6.4.9879.0.fbl_release.141103-172210.0.9926.0.fbl_awesome1501.150119-1648
    10.0.10041.0.fbl_impressive.150313-1821
    10.0.10049.0.fbl_impressive.150325-1700
    Set BranchName REG_SZ value in [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsSelfHost\Applicability] to:
    fbl_release -- to upgrade to 9879
    fbl_awesome1501 -- to upgrade to 9926
    fbl_impressive -- to upgrade to 10041
    fbl_impressive -- to upgrade to 10049
    Well this is the world we live in And these are the hands we're given...

  • Text options in the new Preview (Yosemite)

    Dear list members, in the old version of Preview (Mavericks), there were several options in the text box tool, such as outlined text. Now in the new Preview (Yosemite), those options are gone. Is there a way to reactivate them? Thanks!

    I find it annoying too. Also, when you want to add text, you always need to open the title bar and then to text box always goes in the middle of the document. The only way I found to get over that issue was to ask my friend to put Preview 7.0 on a USB key (he is still on Mavericks) and then I dragged it in my application folder. It works for some PDFs but not for all of them unfortunatelly...

Maybe you are looking for

  • Can I put a amd 64 X2 3800+ on a motherboard msi K8N neo2 platinium ?

    hello I'm sorry for my bad english but I'm french .... can I put a amd 64 X2 (dual core) 3800+ on a motherboard msi K8N neo2 platinium ? Which is the highest processor which I can put on this mothercard ? thanks well for your help @+

  • How to open mbox files from Ipad

    Hi. I have backed up my Mac email database to the cloud. They are stored in mix format. My question is: may I access to an mbox file from my Ipad in order to look for and view a certain email? If so, which App would serve to do this?. I am using Mave

  • "Could not resolve fx:Script to a component implementation"

    I always get "Could not resolve <fx:Script> to a component implementation." error if I create a project with nightly build sdk (in this case: 4.0.7826) Switching sdk to 4.0 and then back to #7826 solves the problem.

  • Flat panel monitor recommendations

    Hi All I know I can connect a flat panel monitor to my eMac using the mini VGA port via an adapter, but can anybody recommend a decent 20inch flat panel screen as the Apple ones are tad expensive for my pocket :] Washac

  • Can someone help me with screen locks?

    i put a screen lock on my ipod and i forgot the password. i tried charging it on my computer but it does nothing. someone plz help!!!   Windows XP     Windows XP     Windows XP