PDF not displaying properly in Acrotbat

Hi all,
I'm having an issue with a document I have created in Photoshop not displaying properly when opened in Acrobat. It is a brochure for my work, that I have worked on and printed many times. When I open it in Acrobat after creating the PDF, gaps appear and other elements are shifted out of place. When viewing it in Photoshop, those gaps are not there, even when I zoom in very close. When we open the file on other computers with Acrobat, the gaps are still there. To test the PDF further, I downloaded some free PDF viewers off the net and the document looks the way it was created, the way it should be. I don't know how to fix it and certainly don't want the gaps appearing when it goes to print. Any ideas on how to fix this? I've never previously had this problem. Thank you in advance for your help.
Leah

Without access to the files it's impossible for us to help. Acrobat will be displaying the PDF "correctly", but why the page contents are shifted is anyone's guess.
When you save as "Photoshop PDF" and choose the "Preserve Photoshop Editing Capabilities" option, it embeds a copy of the PSD file into the PDF and will open that whenever you try to open the PDF in Photoshop, which is why you don't get the import dialog. Photoshop never even reads the PDF page contents. Turn off that option, save to PDF again, and then open it in Photoshop - you'll see the true PDF page being imported as a graphic, and it'll match what Acrobat is displaying.

Similar Messages

  • PDFs not displaying properly when switching from multiple monitors to single screen

    OK, here’s one I can’t find online anywhere. When I am at home I use a second monitor on my Macbook. Adobe reader works just fine opening files and displaying them, but if I disconnect the monitor and just go to the single laptop screen, adobe will no longer display the pdf file. Reader stays open and will display the toolbar from the file or files I had open, but it won’t display the actual documents. I have to quit reader and re-open it in order to display my files correctly.
    Any ideas?

    OK, here’s one I can’t find online anywhere. When I am at home I use a second monitor on my Macbook. Adobe reader works just fine opening files and displaying them, but if I disconnect the monitor and just go to the single laptop screen, adobe will no longer display the pdf file. Reader stays open and will display the toolbar from the file or files I had open, but it won’t display the actual documents. I have to quit reader and re-open it in order to display my files correctly.
    Any ideas?

  • Lately pdf files from the Web do not display properly; what is wrong and how can I fix it so I don't have to use IE?

    I am a professor and frequently need to open pdfs of academic journal articles from electronic databases. Within the last two or three weeks, when I try to do this using Firefox, only the first page of the pdf displays and the rest are blank. In addition, a bar appears across the top with the message "This pdf file may not display properly." So I have had to switch to Internet Explorer to open the files and do my research. What is going on and how can I fix it so I can open pdf files from the Web in Firefox and have them display properly?

    My question is simple - why would you put an application in production that has a lot of bugs? To replace a good and steady Adobe product? My customers will believe that I put a pathetic fallible form online. They are not sophisticated on computers so I just tell them to use IE. Ugh
    I must agree with pgwebgirl!

  • Colours of imported postscript not displayed properly in illustrator

    Hi,
    I produced a colour map and colour gradient legend as a postscript file (.ps) using generic mapping tools software running under linux. When I import this file into illustrator (in windows 8) the colour map is fine, but the colour gradient does not display properly. It appears as a bunch of white spaces and vertical colour bands of random colour. When I then try to export the file as a .pdf the colour gradient appears as solid blue. I've also tried producing a .pdf instead of .ps but it makes no difference.
    It's worth noting that I have done this in the past with no problems. This particular problem first occurred a few months ago and is now persistent.
    Any help or suggestions are appreciated.

    There are no import options to change in Illustrator to make it work. Usually I argue against using Illustrator as a general purpose PDF editor, but since it seems to be your only option here it is better than nothing (i.e., what you got from Illy itself).
    It's worth noting that I have done this in the past with no problems. This particular problem first occurred a few months ago and is now persistent.
    The problem is that the color bar is a 4-bit color image. Did that recently change with an update of your mapping software? Open one of your Illy files that were okay and check the color bar -- is it vector or bitmap? If it's a bitmap, can you "edit" it with Photoshop? (It's not a good day to be an Adobe spokesperson: much to my surprise, Top Market best Seller Photoshop cannot edit 4-bit color images!)
    Let's talk Versions as well. I distilled with Distiller 9, but it seems that is not the magic solution (as you already see that it worked). Both Illustrator and InDesign: CS4. Platform: Windows 7.
    That combo works for me.
    A minor -- relatively unrelated -- note:
    garthboy9999 wrote:
    I also tried to import the .ps file into indesign (which I've never used before), as you suggest, but I got an error about the program not being able to recognize the file format (maybe a plugin missing?).
    No, that indicates you attempted to "open" your ps. You must create a new document first, then use "Place" -- Adobe's terminology for what every other program on the planet calls "Import". It's relatively inconsequential, because either failure or success with InDesign doesn't mean that much; I only included it to point out another blatant unnecessary difference between the two programs.

  • Fonts not displaying properly in Creative Cloud files

    I just noticed that fonts are not displaying properly in my Creative Cloud files.  The strange thing is, they continue to display correctly in files I uploaded prior to release - it's just in files I upload now that the fonts are reverting to some generic display font.
    For reference, here is a file uploaded before release:
    https://creative.adobe.com/file/7ba1e1dc-993e-4f85-bf2d-7ec4e099929e
    And here is the same file uploaded just now:
    https://creative.adobe.com/file/82f1ed16-8f8c-45f5-9127-791f08ad9ec9
    The display problem also applies to downloads of the newer file as a JPG, PNG or PDF, although the fonts are still present in the downloaded original file.  With the older uploaded file, download as PDF is not available (presumably because this was a release feature), but download as JPG and PNG outputs a file with the correct fonts intact.
    This is a serious problem, because it makes previews inaccurate as well as making the download feature almost useless.  Was it perhaps an unintended side-effect of turning on download as PDF?

    On a related topic, here's another Illustrator file with fonts displaying incorrectly, but this time it also has problems with the download links - the options for PNG, JPG and PDF do not appear at all.
    https://creative.adobe.com/file/2d6d788d-01e4-488d-90b8-46823f2017e2
    This is all very strange, because they did appear in a previous version of this very same file:
    https://creative.adobe.com/file/dae50071-9596-44ce-b525-3f52663f8cca
    Could it perhaps be related to the strange font behaviour?

  • Menu windows not displaying properly in Acrobat 11 STD

    When I try to print any PDF file (clicking File->Print) the Print Menu that opens is missing all text in the window incl all buttons. I tried installing a separate Adobe Reader in local Danish language just to test the application but this was worse. So uninstalled and sticking to Acrobat.
    I also tried click File->Properties and this is also not displaying properly.
    I fear this has something to do with Microsoft compatibility, but I don't know. I have MS Windows 7 Pro SP1 installed.
    The good news is I can guess the bottom 2 buttons - 'OK' (left button) and 'Cancel' (right button) which at least allows me to print in the default preferences.
    Any ideas how to fix? I have the latest update installed.

    I have been working together with Adobe support team to solve this. After multiple rootcauses we found the issue.
    The issue was caused by not having the default windows font 'Segoe UI' installed. Sounds strange that Win 7 does not come with the font that is used by this application but the tip worked.
    Google a website to download the font from, I used 'Fontpalace.com' - install the font - and voila the issue is solved.

  • Why is my youtube webpage not displaying properly?

    My youtube webpage is not displaying properly. its like tthere is only text and thumbnails and the whle webpage is too damn long. The videos don't play when clicked. Problem on both firefox and chrome. I disabled kaspersky av but it didnt make any difference cuz i thought the firewall mustve been blocking something. check screenshot attached.

    You can try these steps in case of issues with web pages:
    You can reload web page(s) and bypass the cache to refresh possibly outdated or corrupted files.
    *Hold down the Shift key and left-click the Reload button
    *Press "Ctrl + F5" or press "Ctrl + Shift + R" (Windows,Linux)
    *Press "Command + Shift + R" (Mac)
    Clear the cache and remove cookies only from websites that cause problems.
    "Clear the Cache":
    *Firefox/Tools > Options > Advanced > Network > Cached Web Content: "Clear Now"
    "Remove Cookies" from sites causing problems:
    *Firefox/Tools > Options > Privacy > "Use custom settings for history" > Cookies: "Show Cookies"
    Start Firefox in <u>[[Safe Mode|Safe Mode]]</u> to check if one of the extensions (Firefox/Tools > Add-ons > Extensions) or if hardware acceleration is causing the problem.
    *Switch to the DEFAULT theme: Firefox/Tools > Add-ons > Appearance
    *Do NOT click the Reset button on the Safe Mode start window
    *https://support.mozilla.org/kb/Safe+Mode
    *https://support.mozilla.org/kb/Troubleshooting+extensions+and+themes

  • My vertical Spry is not displaying properly in IE 8

    I am working on my first website using Dreamweaver CS4 and my spry is not displaying properly over my flash photo gallery.  It looks ok in Firefox (although the borders are missing on my submenu for "sheds tool list") but in IE 8 the submenus can't be seen.  How can I correct this?
    My website is www.toolshedstudio.com
    Here's my css:
    @charset "UTF-8";
    /* SpryMenuBarVertical.css - version 0.6 - Spry Pre-Release 1.6.1 */
    /* Copyright (c) 2006. Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved. */
    LAYOUT INFORMATION: describes box model, positioning, z-order
    /* The outermost container of the Menu Bar, a fixed width box with no margin or padding */
    ul.MenuBarVertical
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        list-style-type: none;
        font-size: 100%;
        cursor: default;
        width: 10em;
        border-top-style: none;
        border-right-style: none;
        border-bottom-style: none;
        border-left-style: none;
    /* Set the active Menu Bar with this class, currently setting z-index to accomodate IE rendering bug: http://therealcrisp.xs4all.nl/meuk/IE-zindexbug.html */
    ul.MenuBarActive
        z-index: 1000;
    /* Menu item containers, position children relative to this container and are same fixed width as parent */
    ul.MenuBarVertical li
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        list-style-type: none;
        font-size: 100%;
        position: relative;
        text-align: left;
        cursor: pointer;
        width: 170px;
        border-top-style: outset;
        border-right-style: outset;
        border-bottom-style: outset;
        border-left-style: outset;
        border-top-width: thin;
        border-right-width: thin;
        border-bottom-width: thin;
        border-left-width: thin;
    /* Submenus should appear slightly overlapping to the right (95%) and up (-5%) with a higher z-index, but they are initially off the left side of the screen (-1000em) */
    ul.MenuBarVertical ul
        margin: -5% 0 0 95%;
        padding: 0;
        list-style-type: none;
        font-size: 100%;
        position: absolute;
        z-index: 1020;
        cursor: default;
        width: 8.2em;
        left: -1000em;
        top: 0;
    /* Submenu that is showing with class designation MenuBarSubmenuVisible, we set left to 0 so it comes onto the screen */
    ul.MenuBarVertical ul.MenuBarSubmenuVisible
        left: 0;
    /* Menu item containers are same fixed width as parent */
    ul.MenuBarVertical ul li
        width: 8.2em;
    DESIGN INFORMATION: describes color scheme, borders, fonts
    /* Outermost menu container has borders on all sides */
    ul.MenuBarVertical
        border: 1px none #CCC;
    /* Submenu containers have borders on all sides */
    ul.MenuBarVertical ul
        border: 1px solid #CCC;
    /* Menu items are a light gray block with padding and no text decoration */
    ul.MenuBarVertical a
        display: block;
        cursor: pointer;
        background-color: #000;
        padding: 0.5em 0.75em;
        color: #CCC;
        text-decoration: none;
    /* Menu items that have mouse over or focus have a blue background and white text */
    ul.MenuBarVertical a:hover, ul.MenuBarVertical a:focus
        background-color: #33C;
        color: #000;
        font-size: 100%;
    /* Menu items that are open with submenus are set to MenuBarItemHover with a blue background and white text */
    ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarItemHover, ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarItemSubmenuHover, ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarSubmenuVisible
        background-color: #33C;
        color: #FFF;
    SUBMENU INDICATION: styles if there is a submenu under a given menu item
    /* Menu items that have a submenu have the class designation MenuBarItemSubmenu and are set to use a background image positioned on the far left (95%) and centered vertically (50%) */
    ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarItemSubmenu
        background-image: url(SpryMenuBarRight.gif);
        background-repeat: no-repeat;
        background-position: 95% 50%;
    /* Menu items that are open with submenus have the class designation MenuBarItemSubmenuHover and are set to use a "hover" background image positioned on the far left (95%) and centered vertically (50%) */
    ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarItemSubmenuHover
        background-image: url(SpryMenuBarRightHover.gif);
        background-repeat: no-repeat;
        background-position: 95% 50%;
    BROWSER HACKS: the hacks below should not be changed unless you are an expert
    /* HACK FOR IE: to make sure the sub menus show above form controls, we underlay each submenu with an iframe */
    ul.MenuBarVertical iframe
        position: absolute;
        z-index: 1010;
        filter:alpha(opacity:0.1);
    /* HACK FOR IE: to stabilize appearance of menu items; the slash in float is to keep IE 5.0 from parsing */
    @media screen, projection
        ul.MenuBarVertical li.MenuBarItemIE
            display: inline;
            f\loat: left;
            background: #FFF;

    Hi
    You flash movie doesn't have the parameter wmode=transparent. If  you set that, the menu bar will be on top.
    <param name="wmode" value="transparent">
    I hope this helps.
    Ben

  • Itunes 9 Store - Not Displaying Properly

    I am having problems with the iTunes store not displaying properly. I can see the album art, but the background is black. I can not see any of the text and I can not see most of the blue play buttons. This all occurred after upgrading to Itunes 9. What options would I need to change in my anti-virus/security programs in order to potentially correct this issue. I really don't want to have to totally uninstall Itunes and reinstall everything. Help is appreciated.

    I can see the album art, but the background is black. I can not see any of the text and I can not see most of the blue play buttons. This all occurred after upgrading to Itunes 9
    Drgoo's suggestion from the following post might be worth trying with that:
    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=10390276#10390276

  • Images not displayed properly

    [Migrated from the Syclo Resource Center]
    prashanthi_vangala   01/03/2012 06:44,
    Hi,I am working on Agentry 5.4.0I have a list screen where for one of the columns I have a rule to display images ( I use checked and unchecked images ). Earlier the images were getting displayed properly on the ATE but  it is not working now and I did not make any changes to the image properties then.But after this, I tried couple of things with the image properties to make it work, like when I do not use any mask colour the image does not get displayed but when i use any maks colour the image gets displayed but its completely blacked out ( and thus for checked image, cannot see the check mark and its completely blacked out ).I face same issue with the login image as well. I added a new Image ( Logo ) to my App for the login Screen, but even this image does not appear on the login screen.
    I also tried deleting the Dev folder and re-publishing, but even this does not work.
      -Prashanthi
    Jason Latko   01/03/2012 11:42
    Try deleting the Application directory under your development server where the images reside and publish again.
      Completely clear your ATE and transmit again from scratch.
      Also, what mask color are you using?
      Try using a green hugh and not black or white for the mask.
    Jason Latko - Senior Product Developer at Syclo
    prashanthi_vangala   01/03/2012 12:38
    Hi Jason,Thank you for the reply.I already tried all the  things you have mentioned, but the same issue exits still.
    Prashanthi
    Jason Latko   01/03/2012 12:40
    Is it just the ATE, or do you have the same problems using the WIn32 or PPC clients?
    Jason Latko - Senior Product Developer at Syclo
    prashanthi_vangala   01/04/2012 06:21
    Hi Jason,Behaviour in ATE:I have changed the image now and tested with the new image . Now, its behaving strangely:When I do a sync after publishing or a reset of ATE; I see the new image properly displayed on the screen but when I leave the screen and come back to the same screen again, the new image is getting replaced by the old image ( atleast the old image is not displayed properly, it appears like a black square box..and because of the same issue I had with this image I switched to the new image ). Behaviour in Win32 Client:When I tested with the client, I see  the new image properly for the first time and when i leave the screen and come back the image disappears..This is the behaviour in client.
    Please suggest.
    -Prashanthi
    Jason Latko   01/09/2012 11:35
    Prashanthi,What did you use to create these images?
      They are simple bitmaps I assume?
      Try creating some very simple images using Microsoft Paint, then set a mask of green in Agentry.
      Your problem sounds familiar, but I can't find a matching bug in our database.
      Maybe someone else has experienced this?
      You could also try upgrading to a newer version of Agentry to see if the problem goes away.
      We are currently on version 6.0.4.Jason Latko - Senior Product Developer at Syclo
    prashanthi_vangala   01/11/2012 10:02
    Hi Jason,
    Thank you for the reply.
    But strangely, from past few days I see that the image is working fine again.
    But kept this topic open because it was wierd, that the image is working correctly again without making any major change. What I did was to just write the rule again which calls the image ( though i did this before and did not work then but worked now ) and to observe the image behaviour for few days.But it seems like it is fine now.
    Thanks and Regards,Prashanthi

    We am using "jv:imageButton" tag for displaying the image and below is the tag code,
    <jv:imageButton styleClass="buttonStyle"
    selected="true"
    onclick="networkCanvas.setInteractor(clientSelect)"
    image="../oracle/communications/inventory/ui/images/arrow.png" buttonGroupId="interactors"
    rolloverImage="../oracle/communications/inventory/ui/images/arrowh.png"
    selectedImage="../oracle/communications/inventory/ui/images/arrowd.png"
    title="#{inventoryUIBundle.SELECT}"
    message="#{inventoryUIBundle.SELECT}" />
    The able code is present in the below path,
    ..\public_html\oracle\communications\inventory\ui\network\page\NetworkView.jsff
    The images are present in the following path,
    ..\public_html\oracle\communications\inventory\ui\images\zoomrecth.png
    I am not thinking this is a Platform Beta 3 uptake issue. And I am suspecting an issue with integration of ilog with ADF. Any help in this regard would be helpful.
    regards,
    Chandra
    Edited by: user638992 on Feb 25, 2010 3:40 AM

  • Ads are not displaying properly in Safari, v 4.0.5

    I am having an odd problem with display ads from our local newspaper not displaying properly on my Mac Pro in Safari. I suspect that the issue might be related to having had some AdBlock app on my system a few months ago. I removed the app and some ads display, but others are just a white block with nothing inside. Is there any way to figure out why the content doesn't load?
    The website is http://www.echopress.com
    The ads I'm having issues with are the 300x250 ads in the right 3rd column, located directly below the weather info and above the "marketplace" ads.
    Any ideas or troubleshooting tips?
    Thanks,
    Grady
    Oh, why do I wanna see em in the first place? I'm an advertiser on the site and would like to see my own ads load occasionally.

    Hey ho, Grady!
    I can see all the ads on the right,
    with the exception of the very top (first) box
    which has the header of "Weather Alerts).
    It's blank, and I'm assuming you have no alerts at the present.
    All the rest of the paid for ads show.
    So, what I would do is clear my Safari cache, history, and
    in Preferences>Security, clear all the cookies from that site.
    Hope this helps.
    If you need more info just holler.
    Let us know how you're doing, OK?

  • Elements Organizer 8 - some WMV are not displayed properly in the Play Video but are in Play Vide

    Hello:
    Elements Organizer - some WMV are not displayed properly in the Play Video but are in Play Vide on Full screen. What's the problem? Wrong codec?

    Because WMV's can contain a lot of flags, like DRM, they can exhibit odd behavior, indeed.
    Usually, AV files will display in their native resolution, i.e. in their set Frame Size/Aspect Ratio and with their set PAR (Pixel Aspect Ratio), but sometimes those flags are missed, or are altered by other programs.
    Remember, WMV's are designed to be streaming delivery-only, and are not intended, or designed to be edited. Most NLE's (Non Linear Editors) will allow them to be edited, but will require extra processing to do so. As is mentioned, WMM is designed around editing that delivery-only format, but most others are not.
    There are many other formats/CODEC's, that ARE designed to be edited by the vast majority of NLE's, such as DV-AVI Type II's.
    The best workflow is to NOT bring WMV's into the mix, unless one is using WMM exclusively. Converting those to an easily editable format/CODEC will always be the best course of action.
    Good luck,
    Hunt

  • Page will not display properly with inline Frames

    I have a html page that will not display properly in Dreamweaver. I have a basic understanding of html and want to be able to edit a website in Dreamweaver that was given to me. It looks fine in a browser, but in Dreamweaver some of the content is missing and displays the following message, "Your browser does not support inline frames or is currently configured not to display inline Frames". I was able to open it without any problems using Microsoft Front Page, so is it possible to view and edit it in Dreamweaver?

    Without seeing your page, I'm guessing that your page contains server-side includes, iframes and  scripts to other files on the server that populate page with content on the server's end.  You can't see it in DW because you don't have all the files in your DW local site folder.  You said this views fine in FP.  Was your page created in FP with FP proprietary tools?
    Nancy O.
    Alt-Web Design & Publishing
    Web | Graphics | Print | Media  Specialists
    www.alt-web.com/
    www.twitter.com/altweb

  • Some websites do not display properly or function

    Using Firefox v29.0.1; running Win 7 Pro 64-bit version.
    Some websites do not display properly - as if Firefox is not finding the CSS (Facebook for one).
    Also, on Craig's List, I can't click on any of the links including the contact/reply button.
    Wanted to attach screenshots but see no place to do so.
    Thanks,
    paulp575

    Looks like something in my history must have been causing it.
    That's the only step I needed to go through and seems as though everything has cleared up - for now.
    Thanks Phillipp for your help!
    paulp575

  • Fonts Will Not Display Properly In Mail

    Messages that I am receving in Mail will not display properly. All characters are represented with square with the letter A. I attached a screen shot.
    I changed the default fonts to many different options and nothing has worked.
    Any help would be great.

    Open up Font Book and validate your fonts.  You may have a corrupt font or corrupt font database.

Maybe you are looking for

  • Doubt with creation of Model in the application Webdynpro Java

    Good Morning, I have the following doubts with the fields when i am creating a models in WebDynpro Java Model Package Source Fólder Default logical system name for model instances Default logical system name for RFC metadata Logical Dictionary Dictio

  • Problem with alv print

    Hi, I am using alv grid, there is a problem with print, when i look at print preview it shows only 1 row and even the values in that row are incorrect. Please help me solv the problem. Thanks, Sai.

  • Lumia 925 screen freeze.

    Hi everyone. I have a returning problem with my Lumia 925 approx once a week since it was new. This happens on random, no particular tasks seems to set this off. Sometimes it is enough to press the volum down and the screenlock button until it restar

  • ITunes store won't open on windows vista

    Itunes itself opens fine, but when I go to iTunes store it is either blank or freezes

  • Error at  Cenvat Credit_J1IEX

    Dear Experts, Recently we have create new plant. A the time taken Cenvat credit through J1IEX Business area not copy automatically at header level under Excise Invoice  tab. please guide the where we have configured the same. So it will automatically