"send for shared review" cannot connect to server

I'm trying use the "Send for Shared Review" feature in Acrobat 9. I want to send a pdf document to acrobat.com and share with others for review and comment. I first used this feature about 2 months ago and it worked without a hitch.
Every time I try it by clicking in the menu "Send for Shared Review", I'm asked for my user name and password to connect to Acrobat.com. I type it in (I know it's correct because I can go to acrobat.com using my browser and the password works), the Acrobat.com dialog box comes up telling me it "can't connect to server." It has my correct log in information. If I use my browser to go to acrobat.com, I can log in fine, but then of course I can't get the mark-up feature for my shared pdf files. Any ideas what I can do to troubleshoot? I'm at a loss.
I'm using Acrobat 9 and Mac OS 10.5.8

I'm having the same problem. I've
been using this for over a year without an issue, today I am getting the same message, can't log into the server. It works on my pc but not my mac. Any answers

Similar Messages

  • Shared review--cannot connect to server

    Since I have upgraded to Leopard, I have not been able to participate in a shared review from Acrobat Professional 8.1.2. I also cannot by using Adobe Reader for Mac. In the finder it shows me as connected to the required folder using smb. My only way to participate is to fire up Parallels, use Microsoft Outlook to find the file, open it in Reader for the PC. While this works, it is inconvenient, and it is frustrating that as expensive as Acrobat Professional is, it does not work as advertised. I have called tech support, but they were not helpful in correcting the problem. I even uninstalled and reinstalled each of the updates to get back to 8.1.2 without correcting the problem. I have also tried with Active Directory binded or not, and that makes no difference either.
    Any helpful ideas would be greatly appreciated.
    (MacBook Pro, MacOS 10.5.2 3GB RAM)

    I have run into an issue where we cannot start a shared review from a Mac running OS 10.4.11 on a Windows server. We found the issue to be Thursby Softwares "Dave" sharing software. We use it to connect to our Windows network. It works with almost everything but the Shared review process in Acrobat. Thursby is aware of the issue and they say it might be fixed in a future upgrade.
    I am hoping we will not need "Dave" when we upgrade to OS 10.5.
    If you are using a third party software to connect to a Windows network it may be the cause.

  • Send for shared review - What type of Web server folder works?

    Hello all,
    Can someone please explain to me what type of web server folder works with "Send for shared review"?
    I have created a folder on my GoDaddy server account with full permissions... http://webservername.com/Adobe_Test but after clicking Next, I see the error, "The Shared Folder Location is not valid. Click OK and check the Status field for more information."
    1) It isn't valid? What are the valid server requirements?
    2) "...check the Status field for more information."? What Status field?
    It would have been great if I could use a Google Docs folder but that failed as well.
    What must I do to unlock this neat feature?
    Thank you

    Thanks CtDave.
    I ended up building a WebDAV server and I am now encountering a bunch of new issues. Such as:
    From my workstation, working with Acrobat.
    - After making comments. I click the top button "Publish Comments" - this works well - no errors. But when I attempt to exit the PDF, Acrobat wants to save the document. Attempting to Save results in a read-only error. After trying this, Acrobat gets into a loop where there doesn't appear to be a way to exit Acrobat (other than by Save As new file name):
    Even worse... I understood that reviewers only required the Adobe Reader in order to comment. This doesn't seem to be the case.
    When I emailed a test document for review, this is the message that pops up:
    All that is available is the original content (none of the review comments are available).
    Any ideas?

  • Send for shared review multiple pdf files

    Hi
    I want to know if it's possible to send for shared review more than one file with one action, or you have to send for shared review every single file? I have more than 100 files I would like to send for shared review.

    I'm having the same problem. I've
    been using this for over a year without an issue, today I am getting the same message, can't log into the server. It works on my pc but not my mac. Any answers

  • Adobe XI send for shared review is missing option for Adobe online services, where did it go?

    I am using Adobe XI and trying to share a PDF file using Comments --> Review ---> Send for Shared Review.  The option to share via Adobe Online Services is missing.  What is causing this and how do I get that option back? I am working on a Mac in Safari. Screen shot below:

    With Acrobat Pro 11.0.06 I have send more 188 files for shared review with deadline in June.
    After the update (automatically in May) to 11.0.07 Monday June, 2 became a cold shower to me:
    1) to start a new Acrobat.com-based shared review was not possible anymore
    2) tracking of my 188 reviews was not possible anymore, "no active reviews" = empty tracking list !!
    My temporary solution: uninstall 11.0.07 and reinstall 11.0.00 with NO automatic updating: stop updating at version 11.0.06.
    Result: the tracking list is filled with all items.
    Earlier this year Adobe announced end of life of Acrobat.com-based shared reviews at the end of this year 2014.
    My question to Adobe: how long is this type of shared review supported ?
    My complete workflows are based on it.

  • Can you Send for Shared Review in Batch Processing JavaScript?

    Hello! I am new to javascript and Acrobat 9 Pro. I have multiple documents emailed to me in a day and need to send/track each one individually. Can this be done using the Batch Processing javascript as a Shared Review?
    I have tried adding a button to the "Add-On" toolbar and start a shared review but can't automate manual key entries for the dialog windows that opens for  a Shared Review.
    What I am looking for is a js file to add a button to execute Send for Shared Review, Select multiple files dialog window, open the standard dialog windows for Shared Reviews one time and then do the same to all other selected files.
    Can you please help, and maybe supply some javascript examples?

    Please repost in the Acrobat Scripting forum.

  • Adobe Captivate 8 Send For Shared Review link to Adobe Captivate Reviewer provides no download for Captivate 8

    In Adobe Captivate 8 if you use the feature "Send for Shared Review" and select the option "Send Email" and "Attach Adobe Captivate Reviewer" the end result is a link generated in the email to download Adobe Captivate Reviewer (doesn't attach it as indicated).
    As noted in the email Adobe Captivate 8 Reviewer is REQUIRED to review the file. No big deal there is a link to it in the email : the download link - http://www.adobe.com/go/cp8.0_reviewerapp
    Unfortunately that link redirects to another page http://blogs.adobe.com/captivate/captivate-6-review-app and on that page there is no Adobe Captivate 8 Reviewer link to download. *screenshot of the page below*
    Anyone know the correct link location to download Adobe Captivate 8 Reviewer?
    I am still searching but so far have been unable to find it.
    Thank you in advance to anyone that can help.

    When sharing the link for people to review use the same link http://www.adobe.com/go/cp8.0_reviewerapp but just give instructions to use the one specified for 7.0 (mac or windows).
    Sorry to ask again but want to make sure before I send this out to people.
    Thank you.

  • Acrobat "Send for Shared Review" - Reviewing with Adobe Reader?

    Hello all,
    I am experimenting with Acrobat's collaboration function and I think I am almost there...
    1) I built a webDAV server
    2) Authenticated the document with the webDAV server.
    3) Tested making edits to the document locally... in both Acrobat and Reader (I had to Save As Other the PDF as a Reader Extended Document)
    4) Now, I think I have one last hurdle to overcome.
       When another user received the test file, I was dismayed that PDF asked the user for the webDAV user name and password. Why? This security information should be stored in the document. It should automatically log into the webDAV server.
    Anyhow, once the login information was provided, the reviewer can successfully enter comments into the document. So... sort of success. :]
    I just need to solve that login problem because I can't be giving out the user name and password to the webDAV server.
    Any ideas?

    Sabian Zildjian wrote:
    Yes,  it is.  Especially just about every WebDAV interface uses SSL/HTTPS to authenticate for access. 
    I understand that. Perhaps I am not explaining myself (or not understanding your reply)
    What I am bothered by is that when the reviewer opens the PDF document, in Adobe Reader, the reader is asked to enter the user name and password of the webDAV server and then they are asked to enter their user name, email address, etc. That is a lot of steps I would love to eliminate in order to make the review process as easy and seamless as possible.
    If anything, I would love to embed the webDAV authentication into the PDF.
    Shall I presume that you are using PDF Shared Reviews with a webDAV server? Do your reviewers have to first enter the webDAV's user name and password and then second, enter their personal information, every time they wish to review a document?

  • Acrobat Pro Extended 9.3.1 - Can't use "Send for Shared Review"

    After the last update for Acrobat Pro Extended, I cannot send RoboHelp PDF generated documents for shared reivew. I used to be able to send draft reviews of the help (in PDF) using our public shared drive. The error indicates: "The filename you specified is not valid because it does not include a .pdf extension, contains one or more invalid characters or the path preceding it refers to a protected system location." I have not changed any of the items mentioned in the error and yet after the last software release update to the 9.3.1, the share review option is not working. Has anyone run into this issue and can help with pointers?

    I am surprised the patch allowed you to update from AA9.0.0 to 9.3.1 directly. Almost all patches (updates) for Acrobat are incremental and they must be installed in sequence. I suspect this it true for AA9 also, but I could be wrong.
    I suspect it was the jump that is causing the problem. I would suggest you reinstall AA9 (you may have to be careful about activating and deactivating so you do not lose your number of license installs). Once you are back to AA9.0.0, then either use the "Check for Updates" or download all of the updates and install them in order. You may have to reboot after some of the changes. It looks like you have 7 updates to go through. Folks have complained about the updates not being cummulative for years, don't expect things to change.

  • Personal File Sharing Problem - Cannot "Connect to Server"

    hi, my network (using a base station and an express) has two computers currently connected - a dual G5 (afp://10.0.1.4) and a powerbook aluminum (apf://10.0.1.2). both are connected to the same "server"...laptop via airport and g5 via ethernet.
    i have no problem connecting from my g5 to the laptop using the Connect to Server function, but from my laptop, i cannot connect to the G5. when i use the "Connect to Server" function, the "connect" button won't respond. when i "browse," i get the window that says "the alias could not be open, because the original item could not be found" fwiw, i can connect to ftp servers from my laptop without problem...personal firesharing is on for both computers, and firewalls are off.
    any suggestions?

    powerbook aluminum (apf://10.0.1.2)
    Gene, hopefully just a mistype!?
    I think we should start of by getting Applejack...
    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/19596
    After installing, Reboot holding down CMD+s, then when the prompt shows, type in...
    applejack AUTO
    Then let it do all 5 of it's things.
    At least if it doesn't fix it, it'll eliminate a few questions.
    Besides, once you really, really need it... you can't install it!
    I mean, I know where those Aliases are, but sounds like more is involved.

  • Acrobat Pro 10.1.13 Hangs when sending for shared review

    Hi all,
    The company where I work has recently upgraded from Design Standard CS3 to CS6. While this has fixed the numerous problems with Indesign, Acrobat's shared reviews still give me trouble.
    In the past if i tried to do a shared review and send the emails from within acrobat, it would crash. I was resigned to a lifetime of never using this feature and saving the files to my hard drive and then manually sending the email with a link.
    After the installation of Acrobat 10.1.3, there is a new problem.
    I can create a shared review and send the emails through acrobat but it never completes the sending. The odd thing is, it does make the review file, copy it to the correct location and sends the email. The only way to get out of Acrobat is to make it crash. It gets stuck at the screen below.
    This is marginally better than what i use to use as it at least sends the email but it isnt ideal.
    I have tried different network locations with different length directory names and also the root directory, but i get the same result. Only once has it done it without a problem.
    Has anyone else had this problem and is there a solution?

    Everyone else has the same problem with sending review emails in Acrobat.
    Do you mean an Adobe profile or Windows 7 User Profile?

  • Installed BPC 7.0 for MS, but cannot connect to server in admin console

    I have installed BPC 7.0, and in the server manager, everything is ok, and seems to be running and there are no errors.  When I attempt to connect to the server with the Admin Console, I am getting the following error:
    "The sstem cannot connect to the XXXXX Application server.  Verify that you have Specified a valid Application server name, or see if the Application server is unavailable at this time"
    any help would be appreciated.

    Hi,
    I would request you to try few things.
    1. This is might be because there are other processes using port 1080.
       Log on to the application server via Remote Desktop.
       Open Task Manager and select the Processes tab.
       Select ManagementAgentNT.exe and choose End Process.
       Select RouterNT.exe and choose End Process.
       Log into IIS and START the Default Website.
    2. Another possible cause can be if the Server and Client are running different versions of BPC. If the version of BPC is different on the server and the client then an uninstall will need to be done on the client
    3. The APPINFO.XML file is corrupt. Delete the APPINFO.XML file located on the client machine in folder "My Documents\OutlookSoft" and login again using the connection wizard.
    Hope one of the above resolves your issue.

  • Captivate Send for Shared Review

    "I use Workspaces with my Captivate software for posting content and for tracking & reporting. Will I still be able to do so?
    The option to upload content and track results in Captivate with Workspaces [Acrobat.com] will be retired. At this time we have no alternative solution, but the Captivate team is actively looking for one. Stay tuned."
    Has Abode come up with an answer to this yet.?

    When sharing the link for people to review use the same link http://www.adobe.com/go/cp8.0_reviewerapp but just give instructions to use the one specified for 7.0 (mac or windows).
    Sorry to ask again but want to make sure before I send this out to people.
    Thank you.

  • Is there an "Access Level" field on the "Send for Shared Review" screen (Pro X)?

    I'm using Pro X, but haven't come across the "Access Level" field expalined in this on-line video http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-acrobat-x/getting-started-the-basics-of-reviewing/
    Is this something you can enable?

    It's only available if you select Acrobat.com as the review server.

  • How to send (larger files) for 'Shared Review'?

    We are unable to get PDF files above 5.5MB to successfully 'Send for Shared Review' to a WebDav server (using Acrobat Pro 9.3.0 on OSX 10.5.8).
    The 'save' process fails at the final stage & the PDF is not uploaded to the server.  Files below that size can be sent for Shared Review without any problems.  Have tested this on different WebDav servers & domains - and with various PDF files.
    Has anyone been able to get PDF files above 5/6MB to successfully 'Send for Shared Review' to a WebDave server???
    Is there a file size limit for individual PDF files for 'Shared Review' using a WebDav server???
    Thanks for your help!!!

    Try creating a review without sending the file and then send the link in a seperate email.
    I used the "Do not send email invitation, just save localy" option and didn't add any reviewers in the wizard. Afterwards I sent a email with a link to the file to all reviewers and it worked.

Maybe you are looking for