Headphone jack is broken! [T500]

I'm always using headphones while on my computer.  Earlier today, my headphone jack no longer works.  Even when the headphones are plugged in, audio only comes out of the speakers.  At first I thought it was an audio driver problem so I uninstalled and reinstalled the driver.  It still wasn't working on my Windows 7 drive.  So I then swapped in my XP drive and the audio still wasn't working.  It won't work on my Ubuntu drive either.  I blew some compressed air into the jack but it didn't fix the problem.  Obviously it's an internal hardware problem.  I'm out of my warranty (bought in June 2009, only got a 1-year warranty).  I'm a college student and this is my only computer.  How much will it cost for my laptop to get fixed?  Is it possible for me to make the repair by myself?  Please help.  I'm very distraught.

if it is indeed the headphone jack that is the issue, then it is very difficult to repair it. I suggest you get a usb sound card or a expresscard sound card (the latter is better since it sits flush in the system). 
Regards,
Jin Li
May this year, be the year of 'DO'!
I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft

Similar Messages

• If my beats headphone jack is broken can you replace it

if my beats headphone jack is broken can you replace it

Take it to the Apple store and find out.
    No one here can say for certain as we are users like yourself.

• The headphone jack is broken

I Own a 7th generation iPod classic. I dropped it the other day, and now when I plug in my headphones audio only comes out from one side . I used multiple headphones so , I know the problem is the iPod. I looked in the headphone jack and one side is broken . Is it possible to fix this problem ?

The jack is broken. You can buy and fit a new headphone jack/hold switch assembly. Getting the iPod opened up is a little tricky but there are video tutorials to help out. I've done several of these and also battery swap outs.
    tt2