Newby with a T430 and T420

Hi all I am hoping this forum will help me. I have a Lenovo T420 and aT430 T420 I7 2640M cpu @ 2.8ghz8g ram T430 I7 3520 cpu @ 2.9ghz16gb ramssd 840 evo 120gb for startup I have put 750gb black HD in both of these in the dvd player using a caddy, the one in the 430 make no sound and is hardly on at all but the one in the 420 seems to be on most or all of the time. I am not very savvy on computers but would love to get the max i can out of these thinkpads would like to put a ssd in the 420 and another 8gb ram to make it 16 same as the 430 as the 430 runs very well.what is the max size ssd that can be used in the 420, i have heard that there is a limit, any help will make my day. cheers

There is no limit, though you will probably need to use UEFI if you want to use a disk over 2TB.

Similar Messages

• SSD rails for T430s and T420

I am not technical - let me state that up front
    I recently bought 2 SSD SATAIII hard drives to put in a 430s and a 420.  The drives fit......but the rails that I have don't seem to fit once I apply the caddy around the new 7mm hard drive - now I'm looking for rails for these 2 drives - any help is much appreciated - an amazon link to what I need to ensure I get the right part would be ideal
    Thanks a lot

Skoop has  you headed in the right direction.  I'll add a couple of details.
    Both of those laptops use a sort of internal carrier for the HDDs.  It wraps the drive and has a pair of rubber rails that fill the space between the carrier and the sides of the HDD slot.  You said that there were no drives.  Are the carriers also missing?  eBay may be your friend there.
    Depending on the carrier used in the T420 you may need a spacer to make a 7mm drive fit properly.  Some SSDs come with a spacer.  I can't tell if that Intel drive does.
    Here are the Hardware Maintenance Manual links.  You can see what the drive carriers look like.
    Hardware Maintenance Manual - ThinkPad T420, T420i