Overhead of cputrack on UltraSPARC T1

Hi,
I'm trying to use performance counters on the SUN T1 to measure cache misses in a multithreaded application.
I launch the program with:
cputrack -o /tmp/PERF_OUT -c DC_miss,Instr_cnt <application args>When run via cputrack the execution time is almost 4x as long as when run without. Is this typical? Are the performance counters returned by cputrack reliable?
Am I correct in reading the totals next to "exit" in the cputrack output as the totals for the entire execution?
Is there a better way to measure these events than with cputrack?
Thanks so much in advance.
-John

You might want to try Solaris part of the forums to get better answer on cputrack.
Performance counters returned by cputrack are reliable to the extent of hardware counters themselves. On intel it is not that reliable, as counters are system wide and it has to resort to a sampling. I have an impression that on sparc it is better, but honestly I have no real experience.
I doubt there is a better way to measure, but there is a bunch of tools that provide different statistics and different views.
Solaris tools - cputrack, cpustat, mpstat, vmstat
Sun Studio - collect/analyzer
Analyzer(/collector) uses the same hardware counters system interface as cputrack, but it is much more powerful in terms of data representation - it groks your sourcecode and attributes counters to it.
I do not remember that much of a slowdown when running cputrack (as you report - 4x). Though these are quite typical numbers for collector.
Might very well depend on exact counters you gather.
regards,
__Fedor.

Similar Messages

• Link aggregation - performance overhead?

Does anybody know if Solaris link aggregation incurs any performance degredation compared with non-redundant network connections?
    We've recently upgraded a client system and have enabled link aggregation to bind two interfaces (bge) to a logical aggregated interface.