SSD rails for T430s and T420

I am not technical - let me state that up front
I recently bought 2 SSD SATAIII hard drives to put in a 430s and a 420.  The drives fit......but the rails that I have don't seem to fit once I apply the caddy around the new 7mm hard drive - now I'm looking for rails for these 2 drives - any help is much appreciated - an amazon link to what I need to ensure I get the right part would be ideal
Thanks a lot

Skoop has  you headed in the right direction.  I'll add a couple of details.
Both of those laptops use a sort of internal carrier for the HDDs.  It wraps the drive and has a pair of rubber rails that fill the space between the carrier and the sides of the HDD slot.  You said that there were no drives.  Are the carriers also missing?  eBay may be your friend there.
Depending on the carrier used in the T420 you may need a spacer to make a 7mm drive fit properly.  Some SSDs come with a spacer.  I can't tell if that Intel drive does.
Here are the Hardware Maintenance Manual links.  You can see what the drive carriers look like.
Hardware Maintenance Manual - ThinkPad T420, T420i 
Hardware Maintenance Manual
[edit] Just to add another wrinkle:  both of those laptops can take an mSATA SSD - if the slot isn't occupied already by a WWAN card.
Z.
The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.  The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored. ... GeezBlog
English Community   Deutsche Community   Comunidad en Español   Русскоязычное Сообщество

Similar Messages

• Newby with a T430 and T420